Harold Hempstead - Caged Crusader

After approximately 6 months of Dade C.I. staff using a shower that reached temperatures of 160°F (according to Dade C.I. Cpt. Dixon) to punish mentally disabled inmates, Darren Rainey would be the last inmate placed in the shower as punishment.  Why?  Because he was killed in the shower.

The primary officer responsible for killing Rainey was reposted to work in another area at Dade C.I. (other than in the TCU where Rainey was killed) about four months after Rainey’s murder.  Rainey was killed on June 23, 2012, the officer was reposted in October 2012.  In March 2014, the officer was reassigned to work back in Dade C.I. Westside TCU which is the area where Rainey was killed.  The officer who killed Rainey was no longer an officer when he returned to the Westside TCU.  He returned as a sergeant.

In April 2014 I met with a Miami Herald representative at Dade…

View original post 519 more words

